Day 1 of the Vegan Challenge, into day 2

Yesterday was the first day of the 30 day vegan experiment my man is trying. I made him some soy coffee, to which we didn’t exactly get rave reviews from. He said it tasted weird, but it’s probably just him having to get used to the difference in flavor from dairy milk to soy.

Dinner was exciting, kinda. After some debate about what to make, we decided on the veggie burgers. I didn’t want to make mac and cheese. It’s a little more labor intensive. Anyway, the Boca vegan burgers are something I’m quite familiar with, but he’s never had one to my knowledge. So I made he and I a burger and I also steamed/fried some broccoli for myself. He wasn’t having those…

The burger consisted of a patty, tomato and potato buns… mine had veg mayo and BBQ sauce, his, only ketchup.

After his first couple bites, I asked him how it was and his response was something along the lines of: After the first bite, I wasn’t sure I was going to like it.  I figured that he’d say something to that effect. He said ultimately that there wasn’t anything about his burger that made him think it wasn’t a burger, but nothing that made it taste exactly like a burger either. Basically, he tasted all the flavors, bun, tomato, ketchup and patty… not just meat flavor, as he would normally in a fast food burger. He started to explain about the texture this morning, but realized that I’ve got nothing to compare it to. And we just laughed about it.

After I go to bed at night, he gets snacky. Typically he’ll eat something like chips or snack cakes. Last night he had maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal and two peanut butter sandwiches.

This morning, I made myself coffee as I do… and made some iced coffee for him and put it in the freezer to make it iced, rather than hot. When he got up, he wasn’t interested. Instead, we spent about 15 minutes on the google and the Starbux website looking to see what was and was not vegan there. Needless to say, his usual white chocolate mocha… not vegan. I figured as much. They’ve got several syrups that are not vegan. He’s out getting coffee right now, and I’m pretty sure he’s getting the vanilla latte. Fingers crossed.

Stay tuned! More vegan goodness coming your way soon. 🙂

About wendemachete

wend E machete is a "stage" name/ pen name for me, Sandra McKee, an aspiring writer and recent college graduate. I'm an active, non-traditional, bleeding heart liberal, mother, and devoted wife. I'm also an ethical vegan and scooter enthusiast. Open sharing of information and creative resistance of authority are my mantra. Question everything. Think for yourself. Live a life of loving kindness and compassion towards others. We are all connected. United.

Posted on May 20, 2012, in Food, For New Vegans and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

